Ulla Pirttijärvi & Ulda

A group founded by Ulla Pirttijärvi-Länsman, one of the leading Sámi artists. Ulda performs modern music which is based on traditional Sámi chants called yoik. A central idea of the music of Ulla Pirttijärvi & Ulda is to have a dialogue of traditional and modern Saami culture.

Ulda has been active since 2009 and performed in Finland, Sweden, Norway, Estonia, USA, Greece, Germany, Austria, France and Russia.

Ulla Pirttijärvi (yoik), Marko Jouste (guitar), Pessi Jouste (violin), Elias Nieminen (drums), Uula Jouste (bass and keyboards)

UldadikipakA2012Ulla Pirttijärvi & Ulda’s first CD “Ulda”

The first CD “Ulda” was released on 23.6.2012.  The music expresses themes of the Sámi culture and the North. In the centre of the music is the rich sound palette of Ulla Pirttijärvi-Länsmans voice supported by acoustical instrumUlda 2aents.

The CD was nominated to challence of the best ethno-cd of Finland. In the debut album “Ulda” the yoik tradition was brought to present listeners with subtle acoustic accompaniment. CD is released by Tuupa Records.

Ulla Pirttijärvi & Ulda second CD “Roijk”

The release concert of Ulla Pirttijärvi & Ulda’s new CD Roijk took place at Ijahis Idja-festival on 20.8.2016.

A central idea of the music of Ulla Pirttijärvi & Ulda is to have a dialogue of traditional and modern Saami culture. In the new CD “Roijk” tradition is explored form today’s point of view: How tradition lives in modern Saami life and what it means personally.

The songs heard on Roijk are mainly compositions and these have been heard in the concerts of Ulla Pirttijärvi & Ulda since 2013. As a contrary to the previous CD with its intimate and acoustic sound, the music in Roijk is perfor-med by a larger group of musicians. The name of the title song Roijk is a combination of Rock and Joik.CD is released by Tuupa Records.

Ulla Pirttijärvi & Ulda third CD “Vuolgigoahtit”

Ulda has been active composing new music and the third album

is constructed under name Vuolgigoahtit. It refers to a slow process of getting ready to go in the Sámi culture.

Uldas new line up including Pessi Jouste on violin, Uula Jouste on bass and keys and Elias Nieminen on percussion will produce the sound for the new CD. Pekko Käppi on bowed lyre has also been performing with the group during the last year and his playing will be heard on the coming recording.

Recordings has been made during the last year in several studio sessions. Album release is planned to autumn 2021.

Ulla Pirttijärvi discography:

2016 Ulla Pirttijärvi & Ulda: Roijk (Tuupa Records, TREC-037)

2012 Ulla Pirttijärvi & Ulda: Ulda (Tuupa Records, TREC-024)

2008 Ulla Pirttijärvi: Áibbašeabmi ‘Longing’ (Vuelie Music, vucd805)

2002 Ulla Pirttijärvi: Máttaráhku Askái ‘In Our Foremothers Arms’ (Warner Music Finland / Innovator 0927 44256 2)

1997 Ulla Pirttijärvi: Ruošša Eanan ‘Russian land’ (Warner Music Sweden AB)

1996 Ulla Pirttijärvi: Hoŋkoŋ Dohkká ‘A Doll from Hongkong’ (Dat O/S, DATCD 23)

1992 The Girls of Angeli: Dolla ‘Fire’ (Finlandia 3984-26853-2)

Ulla Pirttijärvi appears also on the following albums:

Frode Fjellheim: Aejlies gaaltije ‘The Sacred Source’

Rinneradio: Airo

Wimme: Mun